We Are

The Melbourne International Jazz Festival is an annual, world-class jazz festival first held in 1998. The Festival takes place in concert halls, arts venues, jazz clubs and throughout the streets of Melbourne as the city comes alive with the spirit of jazz.

Each festival program aims to appeal to young and old, to enthusiasts and the uninitiated, to encourage as many people as possible to experience the very personal impact that jazz can have on its listener.

The Festival’s vision is to be one of the leading centres of jazz presentation in the world by providing a platform for performance, collaboration, education and engagement. Its diverse programming includes modern masters of jazz, late night art parties, free events, Australian/international collaborations and pathways for emerging artists.

The Melbourne International Jazz Festival is run by a dedicated Board and Management team who are passionate about making Melbourne a world-class destination for jazz.

Board of Directors

John Stanhope

Artistic Director
Michael Tortoni

Jane Good

Colin Golvan SC
Robert Patterson
David Valmorbida
Liza Maimone


General Manager
Jennifer Kerr

Program Manager
Melanie Pose

Programming Coordinator & Producer - Jazz Out West
Lydia Dobbin

Marketing and Development Manager
Dean Worthington

Marketing Coordinator
Vanessa Perica

Development Coordinator
Ciara O'Donnell


Legal Services
Brand Partners

Financial Services
GNY Accountants: Gil Yahalom and Yu Xue

Starling Communications: Ben Starick

Design & Website
Liquorice Studio

Thank you

Leon Kempler OAM, John Pandazopoulos, Michael Rosslind, Duke Fonias, Sue Bailey, Andrew Hagger, Vladimir Shchelkunov, Lydia Morgan from Brand Partners, Robert Butera, Robert Finikiotis, Live Performance Australia, Stage & Screen Travel, Dean Hampel, Sarah Neville, all the Festival Partners, Volunteers, Artists and, of course, our audiences for their continued support.

Photography credits

Our thanks to our volunteer photographers who capture the essence of the festival so beautifully: Suraj Jayawickrama, Kevin Peterson, Michael Findlay, Victor Alan, Anna Madden, Chris Herft, Jessica Guirand, Ree Maloney, Mark Richardson, Ash Gowan, Lisa Beaumont, Stuart Buchanan and Laki Sideris.